Now Reading
Sweden Adopts Same Sex Marriage

Sweden Adopts Same Sex Marriage

Sweden has become the fifth country to officially allow same-sex marriages. The Swedish Parliament adopted a law—which will take effect on May 1—granting same-sex couples the right to marry. Sweden follows The Netherlands, Belgium, Norway and Spain in adopting gay marriage. Under the law, it will still be the prerogative of individual churches whether or not to marry gay couples.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

© 2023 RELEVANT Media Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top

You’re reading our ad-supported experience

For our premium ad-free experience, including exclusive podcasts, issues and more, subscribe to

Plans start as low as $2.50/mo